Tobacco use: A Cameroonian smoker spends monthly 5.000fcfa on cigarettes.

29 August 2015
argent-cfa

A Cameroonian smoker is on a tobacco row. Spending averagely 5000fcfa per month on tobacco products. Which corresponds to 7,25% of the Guaranteed Minimum Wage(SMIG), as revealed by the global Adult Tobacco Survey (GATS), survey realized in 2013 by the National Institute for Statistics(NIS), with the support of the Ministry of Public Health and WHO.

According to the conclusion of this research, the smoking phenomenon is more visible amongs persons within 25-44 years old. Their expenses related to cigarette purchase is more than 5000FCFA per smoker, meanwhile those between the age group 15-24 years spend 4123FCFA to buy cigarettes.

Moreover, tobacco use of recent times is a poverty increasing factor within families. if in a family one person smokes, money that is destined for proteins, that is to say for fish and meat, is being oriented towards cigarette purchase, and consequently, the children do not go to school, blames attributed to lack of finance“, explained by Dr. Flore NDEMBIYEMBE, president of the Cameroon Coalition to Counter Tobacco (C3T).

Health consequences

Smoking has a direct impact on the development of diseases such as cancer, chronic respiratory infections,strokes…. and more, accordingto  WHO,” tobacco kills one smoker out of two“.

This scenario contributes towards aggravating poverty, the civil society calls for the adoption of a tobacco control law, with objectives of protecting future and present generations from tobacco harmful effects.


You like this article? Leave a comment

Laissez un commentaire

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

nineteen − 16 =

In the same category

Tabagisme: le fumeur camerounais dépense mensuellement 5.000 fcfa en cigarettes

29 août 2015
argent-cfa

Le fumeur camerounais est sous l’emprise du tabac.  Ce dernier dépense en moyenne 5000 Fcfa par mois l’achat des produits de tabac.  Ce qui correspond à 7,25% du Salaire minimum interprofessionnel garanti (SMIG), révèle le Global Adult Tobacco Survey (GATS), enquête réalisée en 2013 par l'Institut national de la statistique (INS), avec le concours du ministère camerounais de la Santé publique et l'OMS.  

Selon les conclusions de l’enquête,  le phénomène est un peu plus accentué chez les personnes entre 25 et 44 ans. Ici les dépenses liées à l'achat des cigarettes dépassent 5000 FCFA par fumeur, alors que la tranche 15-24 ans dépensent environ 4 123 FCFA par mois pour se procurer les cigarettes.

Ainsi, le tabagisme, constitue depuis quelques temps un facteur d'appauvrissement des familles. « Si dans une famille, il y a quelqu'un qui fume, l'argent qui est destiné aux protéines, c'est-à-dire au poisson et à la viande, l'on l'oriente vers l'achat des cigarettes. Et, par conséquent, les enfants ne vont pas à l'école, faute supposée au manque d'argent« , explique  Dr. Flore NDEMBIYEMBE, présidente de la Coalition camerounaise contre le tabac (C3T).

Effets sanitaires

Fumer à une incidence directe sur le développement des maladies comme les cancers, les infections respiratoires chroniques, les AVC …. Et d'ailleurs, selon l’OMS « le tabac cause la mort d'un fumeur sur deux« .

Cette situation participe à une aggravation de la pauvreté, la Société civile lance un appel à l’adoption d’une loi anti tabac dont l’objectif est de protéger les générations présentes et futures des dangers du tabac.

 


Vous avez aimez cet article? Laissez un commentaire

Laissez un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

2 × 5 =

Dans la même catégorie